Completed Series Part 2

I love to read book series because you have more time to get to know the characters and the story can really develop. I do also love stand alones but series have a special place in my heat. Here are some of the book series, I’ve read so far:

 

theselection

The Selection by Keira Cass

This dystopian book series seemed more like the reality TV show The Bachelor, than a thrilling YA story. It was not my cup of tea. I hated nearly all characters and was more than annoyed with the plot. Especially the second book was just stupid. So if you aren’t sure about this one, don’t give it a go, it is not worth it.

 

Divergent

Divergent by Veronica Ross

Most of you will know about Divergent because it was made into a major movie in 2015. Now it’s a whole franchise. I never really know how I should feel about Divergent as a series. I really liked the first book, but it was also one of the first YA novels I’ve read, so there was not much competition. The last book was awful by comparison and the plot was not wrapped up nicely. So it is hard for me to say if I like this series or not.

 

The hunger games

The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins

We all love Katniss Everdeen, the girl who is on fire. I can’t wait to see the last instalment of the movies because I think these are great adaptations. As for the books, I loved them. After reading Mockingjay twice, I loved even this one. If you want to start reading dystopian fiction, start here. It’s a great way to begin this genre.

 

Gone_series

Gone by Michael Grant

These books are very violent and gruesome. You need a strong stomach to get through them but nevertheless, I loved all six of them. The story was so captivating and well thought out. For me these books are like one enormous book, I can’t even say where one book ends and the other and I think this is really rare and totally a good thing.

 

shusterm

The Skinjacker Trilogy by Neal Shusterman

This series has a really interesting concept. Even if there are some younger children involved I think the books got philosophical and had deep meaning under its surface. If you are searching for a rather unconventional read without love triangles and rebellions against a regime, you have found your book series. I highly recommend these books because they were a great read and really stuck with me.

 

Beautiful Creatures

The Caster Chronicles by Kami Garcia and Margaret Stohl

I know there is not a lot of love for the caster chronicles but I still love them. I think Ethan and Lean are an amazing couple, even with all that is happening in the second book. And if you know me, you are aware that I love the south of the US so this series had me at once. But I also loved the plot with all its magic and different creatures in this small town.

 

twilight

Twilight by Stephenie Meyer

I think we all know Edward and Bella and their story. I like the Twilight books because they introduced me to YA and I love the movies. I know they are cheesy and highly religious but I still like them. They are just a light and fast read and Bella and Edward are kind of cute together. But I have to say the writing style is not very impressive.

 

millenium_trilogy_mar3

The Millennium Trilogy by Stieg Larsson

The Millennium books were one of the few thrillers I liked. They are very long and way too detailed but I loved the story with all its twist and turns. If you do not fear big books and you like complicated thrillers, you should definitely give this series a try.

 

Kommentar verfassen

